Summer Movie Madness Is Over!

This year is the first year I’ve done summer movie madness, and while I enjoyed most of the films I saw, I’m also relieved it’s done. I don’t go to theaters much, between the whole being deaf and needing caption devices, and not loving big crowds, and also being more thrifty (I’m sorry but movie prices are ridiculous, they just are), I’d rather just Redbox it, so this was a change of pace for me.

Still, I had a good time seeing movies when they were still new for once and a lot of the movies I saw really were better on the big screen. I also liked doing something kind of trendy when I feel I am perpetually behind in all things. Overall, I thought the movies I chose/saw were really well done, and I only regretted seeing it in a theater once or twice. As promised I covered ten movies and here is a list of what I saw (no text, I hyperlinked the reviews if something catches your eye and their ratings (out of 5 stars):

The Circle                                                                                                    Rating: 2.5 Stars

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2                                                             Rating: 4 Stars

Pirates of the Caribbean 5: Dead Men Tell No Tales                       Rating: 2.5 Stars

Wonder Woman                                                                                       Rating: 5 Stars

The Mummy                                                                                              Rating: 3 Stars

Transformers: The Last Knight                                                            Rating: 4 Stars

Spiderman: Homecoming                                                                      Rating: 4 Stars

War for the Planet of the Apes                                                              Rating: 5 Stars

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets                                    Rating: 4 Stars

Atomic Blonde                                                                                           Rating: 3.75 Stars

Now for some fun superlatives:

  • Best Movie: Wonder Woman       Runner-Up: War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Worst Movie: The Circle
  • Movies Best Seen In Rented: The Circle, Atomic Blonde
  • Best Actress: Gal Gadot, Wonder Woman
  • Best Actor: Andy Serkis, War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Worst Performance: Dane DeHaan, Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets
  • Best Director: Tie! Patty Jenkins, Wonder Woman; Matt Reeves, War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Best Story: Tie! Allan Heinberg, Wonder Woman; Mark Bomback and Matt Reeves, War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Best Visuals: Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

And that’s that. Maybe I’ll do this again next year, I’m not sure. Yes, it was fun, but I also feel the need to movie-detox for a while. And that’s just fine, it’s been too long since I’ve reviewed books or food or other things (besides TV). Ready to get back to it.

Hope you enjoyed my reviews for this year’s Summer Movie Madness. Thanks for reading! 🙂

-DMW

This entry was posted in Entertainment, film, movies, Reviews, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Movie Madness Is Over!

  1. converseit says:

    I think that I will give the circle a swerve. that’s for sure! But I’m seriously looking forward to Dunkirk!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Another Movie Madness | justalittlered reviews

Leave a Reply

